User recorded a retainer payment, but it was saved as a project retainer by mistake. How to change that to a client retainer instead?
If you want your retainers to be saved as client retainers, you should only select the client and not the project in the Add Payment dialog of the Payments screen when recording the retainer payment. In your case, you need to delete the recorded payment and re-create it as a client retainer by not selecting the project this time. Check the Core Help for details on recording retainer payments.
Note: You cannot delete a retainer payment if you have already deposited it or used it for payment of invoices. You have to delete the deposits and invoice payments associated with the project retainer before you can delete it and re-create it as a client retainer.